Monday, August 12, 2013

First day back

I was ordered to rest the Wednesday before last. It has been 11 days, and today I got the green light for a short easy 15 minutes on the treadmill.

Did it hurt? No. Not hurt. My knee felt stiff, but so did the rest of my lower half!
But I will now admit, I felt a twinge creep into my knee. And focused on my feet. I feel like I have another issue pulling at it all. I FEEL like my right foot is pulling/turning in, and that my hip is also "not quite right". And I know the piriformis can be a culprit in it all in some cases, and I have indeed  had piriformis issues before.

Soooo I ran, 2.2km. 18 min. Nice and slow. With a bit of walk for warmup and cooldown. Then I stretched. And stretched, and stretched and yes, stretched some more!

And now I ice. And will ice and ice.  Hopefully I will wake up, and sleep I suppose, pain free.

10 days until a 3 day over night hike too. The pressure is on!

On another note. My lower carb, moderate fat and protein eating is going well.  It is not a long term thing, but I would like to drop some body fat before I start carb cycling. After 3 days on it, and then camping for 3 days and staying pretty true to diet, I am down about 4 lb. (started at 156lb and 26.5% body fat, which was way better than I thought I was going to be when I started!)

Keeps me entertained right?


Friday, August 2, 2013

Bursitis, WHAT?!

Pes Anserine Bursitis. Seriously? My ankle is good, my plantar is ok, but then I'm hit with debilitating (while it hurts) bursitis.

I am half way through my half marathon training and am about to miss another long run. It should be my 2nd 12km. I am soooo not impressed, but really what can I do.

I have one plus side for me, I am heading out for a weekend away in some nice wildebeest inhabited area and I am too chicken to run amongst the free range bears, cougars, coyotes and crazy sheep, not to mention the cows, for much length of time, alone. So no run Thursday, today is Friday, won't be home til Monday.  Heck that is 5 whole days of rest.  If I am pain free I will try an easy 5km, slow, steady, and on the treadmill so I can easily stop at the first sign of any wrong doing. Sigh.

If only someone would lend me a babysitter, paid for by anyone but me, so I could go hit an elliptical or spin bike at the gym. Or a pool.  But no. My workout time is dependent on my little ones.

So here I am, 8 weeks to race day. Having to ice and Advil for a week. I'm sad. Lol.

On plus side I did a hill workout the other day, and it felt great (until the great bursitis got me while I slept).

Maybe I'll skip hills for a bit when I get back into it. I think it will be safer that way. Just work on building up my long slow miles and hope for the best on race day.