Friday, March 27, 2015

Spring Break Madness

It is amazing (no, actually not really) how any outdoor running just goes right out the window when kids are on spring break.  I mean, you have to watch, entertain, feed and generally keep them alive for 1-2 whole weeks, including weekends.  I have barely even found time to get on the treadmill, and also when I do get out it appears that I tend to go with a group that is doing something I maybe shouldn't.  For example : Hill Repeats. (booooo)

So this last 2 weeks I have been doing indoor Miller worksouts (I only wish it was beer) and indoor bike with my long runs Sunday.  And then just for fun I have gotten out the last 2 Wednesday nights and joined the clinic run doing hill repeats.  My legs/shins have NOT enjoyed those.

My hips are sore.  My knees are threatening.  My shins are aching.  Is this marathon training?  No, this is me needing to pay better attention and not take even small unnecessary leaps.  Back to the basics for me and just adding up mileage.

This weekend will be a grueling 23 km (ha, grueling, I can say that because I haven't gone that far since last summer) with a group that I am not too familiar with, but I do know they are generally a happy crowd.  At least I will know that I am not the only one out there on the route, possibly the last, but not the only one.

I have been using a shin splint compression thing and that was going pretty okay until it started sliding down... so then I added a compression sleeve under it.  Then I forgot it on a 19 km run and my shin made it through the run okay but I think I have been paying for it ever since.

So I just continue on.

I am also very, very slowly chipping away at my pounds... slowly.... like almost not at all.... but that is neither here nor there.  It is Spring Break after all.

Nothing much else is happening.  Just waiting for May and all the races it brings, and birthdays and a girls weekend away. May cannot happen soon enough.

The last thing that is 'different' this week is I started a fb group for local people (mostly ladies at the moment) to try and meet up with others who would like to get into running.  I know, I know.. ANOTHER fb group.  But I keep seeing moms and ladies post things like "I would really like to start running but don't want to go alone, is there anyone in this area that would like to try and meet up" and what better way to try and find people than to bring them all together.  Maybe it will flop or maybe I will seem like a big huge geek but that is okay.  Judge away fb non friend friends.  I remember how I felt when I got started.  .... Things like Where should I go? Thinking of how slow I felt and that no one else would ever want to run with me.  Where is a race that I could do? That race looks fun but I don't know anyone, or don't have a ride, or don't have a clue what to do for my first race!!

If I can help anyone get past those feelings it will be worth it.



Well that's enough of my rambling today, again I am not sure if it made sense but I think you get my drift.
Peace Out Home Slice

Wednesday, March 18, 2015

March 18 12.5 weeks to go

It's sunny, it's cloudy... sunny... cloudy... it doesn't matter though because I am stuck on the treadmill for pretty much two weeks.  That's right folks, its Spring Break and I am now a slave to my children for nearly 24 hours a day.  Other than that....

Jillian Michaels and I have been having workouts together (dvd obvoiusly) and I managed to score 40 minutes on the treadmill yesterday with only one meltdown (I was the one melting down because they were being bratty children).  This leads me to this morning: My body be tired!  I should rest, and I sort of will.  It appears this morning that my shin/tendonitis/whatever-it-is is slightly irritated this morning, so I am thinking that I will spin bike it out for as long as the children will allow.  So it is sort of a rest. haha. ugh.

To get me through these ever increasing long runs and spins indoors I have started listening to Serial Podcasts.  I have never done the podcast thing before but I have to say, it is quite refreshing.  Not sure my pace will stay on point because I am listening but right now I am going for quality miles rather than fast ones.  Anyways, it is about a murder that happened a million years ago in the stone age when kids still used pagers.  Hows that for a sweet introduction?

I am going to try and post more often from now, TRY. May not succeed.  But if I can hold myself more accountable to doing this I will probably be able to hold myself more accountable for eating well and keeping up my training (even if it is subbing a bike for a run).

With that, I will go and begin my day.  By getting back into bed while the children are quiet.... perk of spring break- no running to school drop offs.

Friday, March 13, 2015

Mid March

I TOLD MYSELF I WOULD KEEP THIS MORE ACTIVE THIS TIME

Fail.

I am finally on the *not really injured so much* list *knock on wood all day*.  It is so wonderful to go for a run and not wonder too much if that ache or pain is going to become debilitating.  Stretching and rolling and strengthening exercises every day must actually work!  I should probably do today's, but later. Always later.

I am up to 19 km this weekend (16 with a group and I will tag 3 more on to the beginning or end depending on where their planned route is).  Only 19, I can say it is only 19 because eventually it will be 21, and then 25 and then 30 and then freaking 42.  So yes, for me this weekend, it is only 19. 19 slow, pain free *knocking again* entertaining kilometers.  I only have a few more weeks with the group I am with before they end altogether and I can no longer run at least half my distance with them.  I figured at least getting half the distance with others is better than all of it by myself, especially when I cross over the 20 zone and they only build to 20..... We will see.  I am somewhat alone in my running after that.  I have friends that run but our schedules are so different and our goals are different.  It makes my long slow run which I enjoy at my 7 min/km pace brutal and painful for those who do theirs at a 6.... maybe they should slow down ;) or maybe I will just run alone so I don't feel like I am holding anyone back.

I have been working on some 'cross training' too.  To prevent more injury I am doing 2 shorter runs plus my long run, and then on 2-3 other days I am trying to knock an hour on the spinbike... and have just added some classic at home dvd body workouts.  I do love the feeling of stiff, hardworked muscles.  I am a geek like that.

My stomach issues have somewhat returned, mostly after the run, which is better than DURING the run, but not ideal still.  I know the answer.  Eat better.  Pretty simple actually, I just have to DO IT.

I have a fandangled new hat to wear.  I enjoy a good hat.  In the summer when the lights (sun) turn on, I fry, quick and easy, so I need hats.  I have been sporting the same ole hats that I have never loved for years and this year I am going out on a limb and have ordered 2!! yes TWO hats that I like the look of and hopefully can wear for day use and for running. Yes both, they must be multipurpose even if they are stinky.  I have a visor coming too.  Thought I would just share these fashion blurps for you :)

Also I have really started to enjoy running pants/crops that have pockets on the legs.  I mean seriously it is pretty awesome to not have to reach behind my back and fiddle with a pouch on a water belt that I can't see to try and maybe get some chews out of the bag.  Just reach into my handy pocket and voila, there they be.   This also applies to the ipod and phone (which I only sometimes put there because it is so huge).

Lastly, I just want to shout out that we are having the most spectacular spring (summer like) weather here, and it is not even spring!!!  20C today, for reals. I am in shorts, flip flops..... and a hoodie. ;)  can't win them all.  I am pretty sad that we didn't get snow this year but it is just beautiful out now.

How did you enjoy that ramble?! :D