Thursday, June 18, 2015
Rock N Roll Seattle Marathon
I suppose I will give my real life regular human being version of how it went down.
For the few weeks before (basically since I ran in Portland Oregon, crap I should recap that first before I post this... after!)
Ok so for a few weeks before, since PDX, I kind of slacked on my runs. I ran 15-20 during the week (2 5's and a 10) and then maybe a bit on Saturday with a 'long run" on Sunday. My long runs included a 10k race (Run for Water, man I slacked and didn't recount that either) and an 18k long run the weekend before. That was a hot run, so hot that I thought my friend wasn't going to make it and she was my marathon buddy!! But we did and it was all good after.
I didn't do much the week of. Friday I dropped the girls off at school with their people lined up to pick them up and spend the night with family, hubby got home from work and we were off around 10 am.
We stopped at some outlets on the way down (yup recounting the whole thing for you). And then we headed down to Seattle to the Expo. (I am going to try and put up pictures! but right now Blogger is a bit down). The expo is down, my DH had not been to one before and I think he enjoyed just seeing all of the stuff even though he has no interest in running. We tried on some Hoka One One and he really liked some, he is a big guy and favoured the cushioning. I found a pair of Altra's on sale and more Injinji socks and I can't wait to try them out!
After the Expo we were out to our hotel. Went for a walk to find the start line and then found some food. I ordered Pizza at Whole Foods. That was such a bad move, I need gluten free and they said yeah sure, we do gluten free..... and then the kid used all the flour covered tools.... I got back to the hotel ate a few bites of the topping, decided the pizza was gross anyways and tossed it. I had a backup salad. :)
Organized my race wear, the always battle of which shirt, which hat, which socks bla bla bla. I had never gone more than 32 km before so I had no idea!!!
And then to bed. 5am wake up call. I tend to have stomach issues and I wasn't sure if the pizza was going to do me over or not so I needed to make sure I could have enough time to get things moving while still at the hotel. I had a nasty breakfast of almond yogurt (I grabbed plain instead of vanilla) and some bar thing that tasted cardboardish... I only ate half of each, I didn't have much appetite. DH even asked "Is that all you are eating???" Uh thats all I can get in!!! And half a coffee. Started getting messages from my Marathon Buddy, (MB), and planned to meet in our corral. Did the rest of the morning stuff and headed out to the start line. Leaving only half an hour to walk to the start felt weird, but I could have left an hour later at the time we started!!
I got to the start line. The corrals were just opening and there were tons and tons of people milling around the Space Needle. I got into Corral 26 and found our 'meeting spot'... and waited....and waited.... and watched all the people... and waited... and then it was the first start. The fireworks/rockets went off of the space needle and the first group was off! And my MB was no where to be seen. I made small talk with others around me and eventually started moving forward. I always love the herd of cattle effect. I had pretty much given up on MB, I figured either she was starting with her friend running the half way up ahead, or she hadn't got her package yet or something.... And then about half way to the start she was in the corral! I wasn't running it alone!
Got to the start, and our corral was OFF!! The back of the packers. I didn't realize just exactly how true this was going to become. I am often a mid/back pack runner in my half's, I don't have a lot of speed.
Ran past hubby at km 1 or 2, and trucked along. Talked a lot. Laughed some. These were the beginning km. I was on my slow steady 7 min/km ish pace......
In the first 5 k we both needed to bathroom break. Found one with lots of porta pottys and an okay line, only took a few minutes. Ran on. Somewhere around 10 k the half marathoners split away from us as we headed towards Seward Park. At this point we were pretty much "alone" and more so as we had fallen farther and farther behind the mid pack runners. My MB was starting to have stomach issues. No biggie, more bathroom breaks, I was committed to finishing it together. We went around Seward park and as we were on the opposite side we caught sight of the Sag Wagon... it was only a few km behind us!! I personally had no desire to see it so darn close. But what happens happens.
We exited the park and headed towards the bridge (I don't know what it was called)... up the little hill to get onto it and then along we went. At this point, around 20 or so km my MB was starting to hurt. There was nothing that I could do but keep on chattering along, being my obnoxious self, hoping I could distract her every now and then. We both had our music on most of this time. I was otherwise zoned out just doing my own thing. I was a bit hungry but otherwise feeling good. I had a lot of extra walk breaks as my pace kept me going ahead of her and if I got too far I would stop and walk while she caught up. I credit all of these extra walk breaks for how good I feel today.
We crossed the bridge and then into the long tunnel. Running on those damn slanted roads was awful. AWFUL. When I hiked the Jasper Skyline trail we were constantly on the side of a mountain, with loose skree, and always with our ankles turned one side or the other... it opened up a lot of problems for me... and I knew if I wasn't careful these banked roads were going to do me in. MB was having trouble on them too and I pointed out where it looked the most flat to hopefully help her along... anything to ease the pain that was written on her face. They also had really really loud music playing in the tunnel. Its a tunnel! no need for that! Just regular loud is fine.
Exit tunnel, go to turn around, more outhouse breaks, and back we go. Someone was being taken away by the medic now too, that is never fun to see but they looked okay. Which is much better than the experiences we had at RnR Vancouver. Back through the tunnel... more slanty road.. back onto bridge... we took water or gatorade at every stop they had, plus our water that was on us. We continued on. Lots of stretch breaks. Lots of walking. And then another hill. I had my real zombie apocalypse thoughts in the last tunnel... hazy, humid, yellow ick!! Then we were onto the viaduct. It was interesting seeing all the backed up traffic all around us, and we in the middle of an empty ramp. There were 5 or 6 km to go now and we had a walk break.
MB spirits were up because it was only that much farther. We took a picture and talked to some others that were around us (not many!). And then we started to the finish. I said to whoever was around... we can do ANYTHING for 30 minutes. We run 5 km all the time, we run it tired, we run it hurt, we run it in our sleep, 5 km is a piece of cake. And then at 20 minutes, and at 7 minutes... I could see everyone around us was tired, exhausted. But we were almost there.
I picked up my imaginary tow rope (yes I totally imagined that I had a tow rope from me to MB, and I was going to get her there damnit!) and we got to the end. She had her family and friends there and my husband, who had been waiting for almost 2 hours was there too!! It was great seeing their faces and knowing we were done.
We had completed a marathon. We are Marathoners!! We are full crazy.
Afterwards my DH admitted, he was getting a bit worried and thinking of checking in with the medics. He had known how my training was, he knew I was feeling great that morning, and he had watched my progress and felt that I could/should/was on track for my under 5 finish. But he also understood/agreed when I told him it didn't matter, we were so alone out there, any choice other than staying with my friend would have been the wrong choice. There are always other runs. ;)
And it is now the 2nd morning after. I feel awesome! I can hardly believe that I feel this good. (knock on wood) My hips are the tiniest bit stiff still, but I barely notice because it is my normal hip stiff. I did run (jog) across the school yard this morning because I was late, and my lungs are clearly not recovered... I was a wheeze ball after 100 meters. So I will just do a couple of walks this week while I recover.
Just never stop moving. Live to Run. Run to Live.
Monday, May 4, 2015
After the After....
Shall I start at the bottom or the top? Hmm perhaps the top. Note: I am not complaining... in fact it actually feels kind of good to feel 'sore' like I worked out.
My upper and lower back are a bit stiff.
My glutes and piriformis are sore. It hurts to move while sitting. I rolled them earlier and they did feel marginally better.... but they are sore.
My quads are sore. I can still maneuver stairs.
My hamstrings are sore... this one is new... they are not injured, I can just really feel them today.
My left knee was a bit sore/hot. Seems okay this evening
My calves are mostly okay.
My shins are sore, mostly my right side (always interesting when my right side bugs me because my left side is the issue side).
My toes became large blisters. All of which I popped. (garoooooooossssss). However that was yesterday and they have given me zero pain today! But I haven't looked at them.
The tips of my toes are still tender. I also fear that I am indeed losing a toenail. (garroooooosssss again... I don't do well with feet stuff)
Hoping tomorrow is better, and not the usual 2nd day after worse.
I also ordered some injinji toe socks, I will try just about anything to help my toes. I know I should also try a half size up on my shoes but I can't afford to just go get new ones right now. Plus they really pretty much are the right size :S I don't know if anymore room after my toe would help much, or just make my shoes sloppy.
Anyways... onto another week of training!!!
Sunday, May 3, 2015
BMO Vancouver Half 2015 - My Poor Feet!
Friend C arrived 5 am. Drove to Vancouver. Found a cheap parking place. Deal! Oh, it is not open yet and we have to kill 10 minutes sitting in the car in the parking lot until the gate goes up...... We are also not the only ones! So we spent that 10 minutes getting our stuff together so that we weren't doing the exact same thing once we were parked, wasting more time,,,,, turns out this was a good decision.
Park and hustle our butts to skytrain, and BAM! We are really on our way. The temp outside wasn't too bad, I wasn't freezing in the cotton tshirt I had over my run shirt. Didn't need gloves or a hat. The day was going to be soooo nice and sunny!!!
We follow the line of half marathoners to the start line... over a kilometer away but whatevs, we know how to use our legs.
We need to pee. NOW. We start running to pass all the people walking so that we are just that many more people closer to the front of the porta potty line ups! We chose a line, we chose a new line and we commit.... Turns out this is one of the rare times my line switching (in any aspect of life.. grocery, border crossing, etc) pays off.
Now friend C is a pace bunny and we have 15 minutes to use the toilet and get up to the corral... I don't make her wait, I will see her later.
I make my way up to the corral and I see PINK awesome! That is my home. Except in my haste I totally get into the corral behind me, and really far into it too before I realize that I could move up into my actual colour. Not a big deal but lets face it, I would rather stay ahead of that many more hundreds of people!!!! I relocated myself just in time, although I got a few funny looks for pushing forward, but mostly because we were packed like sardines in there.
The elites go. The next corral goes (can't remember colour, blue maybe) and then its our turn, yay!!!
I am giving the Hoka's a try again. My lulu socks (Although I am thinking I need to try something new) and the usual other gear. I am also rocking a water belt (Nathan) rather than my pack, after all.... its 21, there are water stations, I will be A OK.
Finally it is our turn to go and I have a pretty good run. Uneventful really. My shoes bugged me again where the tongue is sewn in.... blister from that. That happened around maybe 10 km and took a few km before I could 'move' the issue so it wasn't rubbing there. I didn't have to stop to use another toilet. Nothing crazy, just a smiley run. Oh I tried to smile for all the camera guys but I probably just look like I'm wincing, or just awful... I am sure.
I thought I was going to start with a LSD pace of maybe 7 ish minutes a km but that apparently was going to be 6:30 and less... I didn't know I was going to keep it up... it just happened!! Too many people around with the 2:15 goal (which was where I put my goal when I signed up, a year ago, before I signed up for a full marathon)....
Anyways around the 10 mark I realized that if all went well I could possibly PR it! I played with this idea during my blister embarking km and decided..... we will see.... I am not going to push any harder than what I am doing.... I also switched from a run 10 minute walk 1 minute interval to a run 3 minute walk (or slow run) for 30 second interval.... and what do you know, my 2nd half of the run was actually a few minutes faster!! Not a PR though, and again that is okay... I was not at all training for one.
The run was over. I finished. My blisters are back and they are ANGRY. In fact my feet are really angry looking :( When this next 1.5 months is over I am going to be so so so kind to them... they do not like this marathon running as much.
We walked around a bit, got changed, found some friends, chatted, enjoyed the sunshine..... it was freezing cold in the shade though!! And then headed home for lunch. I took no pictures though. My phone is massive and once I get it in the running belt it does not come out, it takes several minutes to work it in there so it is just not worth it.
Anyways, that is my race recap!
Next weekend : Mothers day and possibly a 32 km training run.
2 Weekends... Rock and Roll Portland road trip!!!!
1.5 month.... Rock and Roll Seattle!
Saturday, May 2, 2015
The Day Before This Half Marathon.
First. I am not anxious today. I mean a little bit because driving to Vancouver and parking and finding the starting line is never just 'easy'... waking up at 4/430 am is not easy. But for the actual race/run. It will be okay.
I have now realized that for the past 5 weeks in a row I have run at least 21 km. This is kind of scary but it is fact. So going the distance is okay. I know I can go the distance. I know that sometimes it is slow. Sometimes it seems to take so so so so so so long and forever and hours and hours it seems, but it gets done and usually within the same half hour. I know that sometimes the miles fly by and then I am on the last 4 or 5 and its half an hour until finish. I know I can do 21.1 kilometers and that is pretty sweet.
Tonight as I get my things ready. I am more concerned with what part of me is going to be hurt first... not 'hurt' but maybe blisters, or what have you. No run has gone smoothly. I can say that. They have all been coming with their own new war wounds. So that is my question of the night as I go to bed.... which one will find me tomorrow.... and will I have something packed to deal with it after!!! ;)
Also it is supposed to be a beautiful day in Vancouver! I have decided to give my new Hoka Bondi 3s another long run.. since I am not 'racing' tomorrow, just another good ole training run. And thats all I got. I need to go pick my clothes now and get to sleep.
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
30 km Long Run .. A First
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Half Marathon Distance
The clinic group was going for a 21 run and I figured I could start whenever my DH got home and just do the same course and by half way the first people SHOULD be catching up to me, after all, I am going very slow, like 7:15 min/km slow at least... and they are doing like 6 or less for the fast ones!
It was a good day mostly. The sun was out, it wasn't too hot at 8 am, not too windy. I tried out my HeadSweats visor (fit wonderfully) and I was experimenting with some blister prevention. I hate blisters. They keep coming. Well so I tried this ReSkin product on a shorter run earlier in the week and it seemed to work alright. On the other foot (same place, inner side of big toe) I tried moleskin during this short run. Both stayed on ok, moleskin not as well, both prevented irritating my blisters.
Long Run Sunday trial I only used the ReSkin and I think I stopped every half kilometer or so for the first half of my run, taking off my shoe, then my sock, then trying to restick the ReSkin. Fail. Or not. My blisters were no worse at the end of my run! My legs felt good, feet felt good, everything was good. I was in my own head listening to tunes (made a 180 BPM playlist for fun) and the time passed alright, even WITH stopping to reconfigure my socks and things many times.
Around half way one of the fast guys went past, he said a few words I said a few words, he said a few words, I said some more... ugh I forget that sometimes people are fast and just want to zoom away, stop talking Kristy, seriously, stop talking. Perhaps its because I have only children all day and all night to talk to.
By 1.5 hours and a different part of town it was starting to heat up, it was hot... really... 13 C maybe, hot for running. ;)
I stayed ahead of the rest of the group until the end, which was probably some sort of miracle.
I also did the entire run with a Run 3 minute walk 30 seconds ratio. At 17 ish km I felt my knees start to ache. Well I still needed to get back home! 4 km, of pain...... I would do anything for no throbbing so I tried the only thing I knew, I ran raster. For my 3 minute run intervals I (apparently had enough in me) ran faster at maybe a 615/630 pace back to the store.... and it felt GOOD! The throbbing went away and I just plowed ahead, also probably the only reason why I managed to stay ahead of the others. It isn't a race on a training run, but lets face it, we all have small goals like that that help us conquer a run.
It was still a 2:29 "half marathon" but that is okay, it was a good run. I got home, had an ice bath, and then went right back outside for yard work and playing with the kids. I have learned that if I keep moving I don't seize up for the day.
Monday I felt pretty darn good! No complaints. Did my 10-15 minutes of yoga and some foam rolling and took it easy.
Tuesday I did a faster 5 km on the treadmill after lunch when I had 40 minutes.
And today, Wednesday, I went to a nearby pond with a 2.5/3 km loop and did 3 with a friend at a nice relaxed pace. No shin issues, no knees, no ankles. (knock on wood) and when she left I did another bigger loop and finished the last 2 km at a 5:30/45 pace. I just wanted to let go and run 'fast' ..... as long as it didn't hurt. We will see how I am tomorrow. Another easy 5 km (probably on the treadmill) planned.... a couple on Saturday and then hopefully 26+ Sunday......wooooohooooo
I guess that is all. Sorry for the rather long post!
PS? Sure. I also just ordered some Hoka's. I have been wearing the Brooks PureFlows 2 and 3 but I am hoping to try the Hokas with a similar toe drop, but that extra cushion for my long runs..... maybe it will help keep my legs happy? I get them tomorrow hopefully so I can give them a spin on the treadmill later in the day. ... Hoping!
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
MidWeek
And Monday I began having those thoughts, those why thoughts! Why am I running a marathon? This is so dumb. I'm just going to keep getting hurt and I will end up there on race day which Is still 2 months away feeling hurt. Bad idea. And just forget any goals other than just finish. I'll be lucky to have that goal!!
Tuesday at 6 am I hopped on the treadmill and at 1 mi my knee was throbbing so I got off, made coffee and opened google.
I think it's my piriformis / sciatic. Well I'm positive it is and it's derailing me.
I do my exercises faithfully.
Hopefully it will be enough.
Saturday, April 11, 2015
April.....
The 'first' was 24 km. It was blustery, damp, grey, and I ran with the full marathon group rather than the people I was used to. I didn't have much conversation, (they were quiet people maybe). I stepped in a puddle in the first 5 minutes. I was a bit sore before I even started and it was multiplied by a thousand by the time I finished (ITBS, for the first time, too). My Serial podcast ended and I was left with some random ones that I was going to try and they were horrid. It was just not my run. I normally do about a 6:45-7 min/km pace with the half group (up to 20 km) but this run we were closer to 7:30 and I felt it... I really, really, felt it.
Took two days off with lots of foam rolling and stretching/strengthening exercises and then got back to it. Did some of my fave loop trails, that type of thing. Easter weekend was away most of it and decided to do my long run on the Monday. Had one friend from the half group join me. We did a chill 18 km (again around 6:45/7) and from the end of that I added on 8 more at around a 7:20. It was mostly a good run, I had good company and great weather, no wet feet except from sweat..... which still landed me with blisters but, such is life.
So now it is my next long run, tomorrow it is Sunday and I have/had? 27 km planned. I was going to go and do 18 again with the half clinic and then run out to the ball park for another 9 to meet my DH and the kids where he is playing. But while at the LRS it was suggested that I could join the full group for 32 km .... most on dyke trails rather than road, very appealing! But also a huge jump from my farthest of 26. The other nice thing about the full group is that they all run together, they don't spread out to do their own things for the most part. They all stick together and do around a 7:15 or slower min/km pace for the whole thing.... Definitely nice for support.
Too bad in the last 20 minutes things have changed....
Perhaps no long run for me tomorrow, DH has to be at the ball field for 8 am and that is 6Celcius and breezy and rather ridiculously early for a 5 and 7 year old to be sitting at a ball field needing breakfast and things because it is the weekend and they should be allowed (for my sanity really) to SLEEP!
I am always a bit shocked at just how incredibly disappointed this leaves me, not being able to do my scheduled runs because DH feels like his activities are priority (even though he knows I won't get another chance to do my run, you see, he goes to sleep as soon as he gets home because he is on night shift).... Ugh, so now I just assume no run for me. Lame.
Friday, March 27, 2015
Spring Break Madness
So this last 2 weeks I have been doing indoor Miller worksouts (I only wish it was beer) and indoor bike with my long runs Sunday. And then just for fun I have gotten out the last 2 Wednesday nights and joined the clinic run doing hill repeats. My legs/shins have NOT enjoyed those.
My hips are sore. My knees are threatening. My shins are aching. Is this marathon training? No, this is me needing to pay better attention and not take even small unnecessary leaps. Back to the basics for me and just adding up mileage.
This weekend will be a grueling 23 km (ha, grueling, I can say that because I haven't gone that far since last summer) with a group that I am not too familiar with, but I do know they are generally a happy crowd. At least I will know that I am not the only one out there on the route, possibly the last, but not the only one.
I have been using a shin splint compression thing and that was going pretty okay until it started sliding down... so then I added a compression sleeve under it. Then I forgot it on a 19 km run and my shin made it through the run okay but I think I have been paying for it ever since.
So I just continue on.
I am also very, very slowly chipping away at my pounds... slowly.... like almost not at all.... but that is neither here nor there. It is Spring Break after all.
Nothing much else is happening. Just waiting for May and all the races it brings, and birthdays and a girls weekend away. May cannot happen soon enough.
The last thing that is 'different' this week is I started a fb group for local people (mostly ladies at the moment) to try and meet up with others who would like to get into running. I know, I know.. ANOTHER fb group. But I keep seeing moms and ladies post things like "I would really like to start running but don't want to go alone, is there anyone in this area that would like to try and meet up" and what better way to try and find people than to bring them all together. Maybe it will flop or maybe I will seem like a big huge geek but that is okay. Judge away fb non friend friends. I remember how I felt when I got started. .... Things like Where should I go? Thinking of how slow I felt and that no one else would ever want to run with me. Where is a race that I could do? That race looks fun but I don't know anyone, or don't have a ride, or don't have a clue what to do for my first race!!
If I can help anyone get past those feelings it will be worth it.
Well that's enough of my rambling today, again I am not sure if it made sense but I think you get my drift.
Peace Out Home Slice
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
March 18 12.5 weeks to go
Jillian Michaels and I have been having workouts together (dvd obvoiusly) and I managed to score 40 minutes on the treadmill yesterday with only one meltdown (I was the one melting down because they were being bratty children). This leads me to this morning: My body be tired! I should rest, and I sort of will. It appears this morning that my shin/tendonitis/whatever-it-is is slightly irritated this morning, so I am thinking that I will spin bike it out for as long as the children will allow. So it is sort of a rest. haha. ugh.
To get me through these ever increasing long runs and spins indoors I have started listening to Serial Podcasts. I have never done the podcast thing before but I have to say, it is quite refreshing. Not sure my pace will stay on point because I am listening but right now I am going for quality miles rather than fast ones. Anyways, it is about a murder that happened a million years ago in the stone age when kids still used pagers. Hows that for a sweet introduction?
I am going to try and post more often from now, TRY. May not succeed. But if I can hold myself more accountable to doing this I will probably be able to hold myself more accountable for eating well and keeping up my training (even if it is subbing a bike for a run).
With that, I will go and begin my day. By getting back into bed while the children are quiet.... perk of spring break- no running to school drop offs.
Friday, March 13, 2015
Mid March
Fail.
I am finally on the *not really injured so much* list *knock on wood all day*. It is so wonderful to go for a run and not wonder too much if that ache or pain is going to become debilitating. Stretching and rolling and strengthening exercises every day must actually work! I should probably do today's, but later. Always later.
I am up to 19 km this weekend (16 with a group and I will tag 3 more on to the beginning or end depending on where their planned route is). Only 19, I can say it is only 19 because eventually it will be 21, and then 25 and then 30 and then freaking 42. So yes, for me this weekend, it is only 19. 19 slow, pain free *knocking again* entertaining kilometers. I only have a few more weeks with the group I am with before they end altogether and I can no longer run at least half my distance with them. I figured at least getting half the distance with others is better than all of it by myself, especially when I cross over the 20 zone and they only build to 20..... We will see. I am somewhat alone in my running after that. I have friends that run but our schedules are so different and our goals are different. It makes my long slow run which I enjoy at my 7 min/km pace brutal and painful for those who do theirs at a 6.... maybe they should slow down ;) or maybe I will just run alone so I don't feel like I am holding anyone back.
I have been working on some 'cross training' too. To prevent more injury I am doing 2 shorter runs plus my long run, and then on 2-3 other days I am trying to knock an hour on the spinbike... and have just added some classic at home dvd body workouts. I do love the feeling of stiff, hardworked muscles. I am a geek like that.
My stomach issues have somewhat returned, mostly after the run, which is better than DURING the run, but not ideal still. I know the answer. Eat better. Pretty simple actually, I just have to DO IT.
I have a fandangled new hat to wear. I enjoy a good hat. In the summer when the lights (sun) turn on, I fry, quick and easy, so I need hats. I have been sporting the same ole hats that I have never loved for years and this year I am going out on a limb and have ordered 2!! yes TWO hats that I like the look of and hopefully can wear for day use and for running. Yes both, they must be multipurpose even if they are stinky. I have a visor coming too. Thought I would just share these fashion blurps for you :)
Also I have really started to enjoy running pants/crops that have pockets on the legs. I mean seriously it is pretty awesome to not have to reach behind my back and fiddle with a pouch on a water belt that I can't see to try and maybe get some chews out of the bag. Just reach into my handy pocket and voila, there they be. This also applies to the ipod and phone (which I only sometimes put there because it is so huge).
Lastly, I just want to shout out that we are having the most spectacular spring (summer like) weather here, and it is not even spring!!! 20C today, for reals. I am in shorts, flip flops..... and a hoodie. ;) can't win them all. I am pretty sad that we didn't get snow this year but it is just beautiful out now.
How did you enjoy that ramble?! :D
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Marathon Training Beginnings
I guess I am now onto my actual marathon plan. Which is already being altered because I am 'injured' or 'recovering' or whatever we want to call it. Pretty sure that is the bla story of the next 4 months so I am already over it.
I am mostly following a plan from therunningclinic.com, it seems to have a lot of interval type training rather than 3 or 4 6-10km straight runs a week. It is supposed to be good for keeping runners injury free... well that much I need! So if doing intervals slower each week will get me there, so be it.
If at any time my calves/shins feel like they need a break from the pounding, my plan is to hit the spin bike for 1.5-2 x as long as the plan was calling for, and trying to keep my RPMs above 90. I am going to have to find a new TV series to watch for on the treadmill and bike..... This much I know.
I have been seeing Physio and now Massage for my calves/shins/plantar fasciatis/anything else I want to add to the list. Anything to loosen up my poor muscles, as well as rolling and stretching and this and that, my list is too long. Good thing the actual running is feeling okay and leaving me with positive feelings and the usual runners high rather than making me think of that list.
What else? I just received my Skirt Sports rain jacket, and some CW-X shorts that I am excited to try out. I live in the rainiest place in Canada, and don't have a rainy day jacket, hard to believe but true. Well now I do! It does not look like a garbage bag, which I admit I was worried it might. Also I just picked up some Brooks Pureflow 2s on sale online for 17.99... oh yes that is correct! I don't care if they are last seasons as long as they do their job.
I took these shoes for a spin today around a local pond/park, they felt good. The park wasn't as busy today, which was nice, less dogs to pass. The pond was covered in Swans, geese and ducks as well as the odd Blue Heron. Totally peaceful. I think I may have to make it my Wednesday run place, each loop is just about 3km, its outside, close to home, I can pass my car every loop.... and yes I may get bored of it, but for now it works.
Lastly, my eating is ... meh! Lets just say I find chocolate, I buy chocolate, I don't stop eating the chocolate until it is gone, which is unfortunate for my body when its a Costco size box. This is the only dairy I consume in a day.
I think that is enough rambling for the day/week..... Hope it even made sense!
Friday, January 30, 2015
Friday...
Volunteering was great! I was close to the end of the first loop so I did have to wait over 40 minutes for the first runner to come through. I had a speaker and music to entertain myself, and the runners. :) The first guy to come through was in sweatpants with his keys and phone jangling away, I could hardly believe it, he looked like he was out for a casual jog. He finished his first half (this one) in 1:39: after being up too late partying and not being able to drag his friends out, he figured he would still come and run it himself. Man alive, maybe one day I can just saunter through a half, even slowly!
So the reason I was 'sidelined' was tendinitis/shin splints. Posterior Tibialis Tendinitis I suppose is closer to what it 'is'. So I iced and stretched and yada yada yada all week long. Saw physio yesterday and he said if 12 hurt, do 6 a few times this week.... and here are a million more stretches and exercises to strengthen your hips. OK, got it doc, just get me to the marathon in 4 months!!! He also suggested I ramp up my spinning if I am not running, keep my fitness and my legs moving for long periods. I have a spin bike, I can do this also.
Today I did go out for 6 km. It was really nice. I went twice around a little park we have here with some ponds and birds, plus a million people walking their dogs. The sun was out, it was brisk and perfect! I just did my own thing, I was not worrying about pace, even though I was noting it, also, I had to pee even before I started and was very distracted... I think it made it more enjoyable though. Not the need to pee, that is never better!!!
All in all, I am feeling good.
Foodwise... meh, I was doing great today until a friend said 'come on over for dinner' and we had perogies and farmer sausage. Ugh seriously, she spoils me, gluten free perogies! I couldn't say no. And then vodka and oj... uh, ok I could have said no to that but by then it no longer really mattered. :)
Tomorrow, I will be spinning for a long while in the morning, must work off the food! and get some 'distance' in :S
Peace Home Fry
Friday, January 16, 2015
Marathon Training... Not Quite Yet
That is what I am currently thinking.
I barely wanted to run today AT ALL, outside, inside, it didn't matter, I just didn't FEEL like it. How am I ever going to get to be running basically 10 km 2-3x a week and then a ridiculously long run every weekend?! I don't even know.
That is all.
Saturday, January 10, 2015
The One and Done
I have been keeping on track, mostly, with my food. Yay!
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Today was so so food wise. There was some chocolate and things mixed into the day. But finished off with a zucchini 'spaghetti' with pinenut pesto dressing. So there is that. Got half an hour in on my spin bike, plus some weights and then a mile on the mill. Perhaps I shall run outside tomorrow morning, in the dreary rain.....
January 7:
It was so beautiful outside! Crisp and clear and little breeze. 5 km around my neighbourhoods. However, I went out early enough that I nearly fell on my butt a few times. It was still a little icy!! I survived unscathed.
Got home and did a round of weights. Must continue that once or twice a week. And I even took the time to stretch out my feet to help fend off the pesky PF, which I have been neglecting and can blame no one but myself. Also, foam rolled. Anywhere I could.
Kept the food pretty clean today, if I do say so myself, but now it is the evening hour. It is the hardest time, as the kids are in bed soon and I can watch my trashy TV and...... snack. I will try and just have tea.
I have no idea if anyone reads this and if it is even interesting or entertaining. I suppose its like a diary to myself, and by doing so, hopefully keeps me more accountable.
Monday, January 5, 2015
Overnight Oatmeal and Fruit 'Ice Cream'
Thought for sure I would need to go to the walk-in clinic today for a sinus infection or strep or something that needed help sorting itself out, but by some miracle, after downing some Benylin (if that was what it was, it was 2 am and I was desperate) my symptoms began to turn around and I slept! I woke up feeling darn near human. ((Sidebar: I do not take cold medicine well, it tastes so terrible and I nearly vomit as it hits my mouth. I have to plug my nose for 5 minutes after to keep it in there... blech!! So I avoid at all costs))
The night before I had made some 'overnight oatmeal' with some wheat free steel cut oats. I tried to follow a 'chai' flavoured version but halfway through I realized I lacked half the spices. Oh well!
It did the job. I made hubby his own version using different stuff, went for a chocolate peanut butter flavour. Will report how his was whenever he eats it.
Recipe:
1/2 C steel cut oats
1/2 C Greek yogurt vanilla
1/2 C Cashew milk (this is a new thing, I quite like it!! May become my go to over almond, soy and coconut)
and then I just freehanded cinnamon, nutmeg (too much), maple syrup, and some copped pecans for fun.
Let sit overnight.
Now maybe cashew milk doesn't absorb so well, or maybe I did something wrong, but my oats were still rather chewy. I ended up warming up my jar and it was much, much better! 2 more jars for 2 more days waiting for me.
And since I didn't get my LSD yesterday I did 5 km on Miller today. I was granted this due to the children starting school today!!!!! Oh it was wonderful to not worry about anyone "Mom-ing" me. I read. I am getting better at reading on the mill and it keeps me more entertained then music. My form stays better, I am paying less attention to the time etc. I would watch TV or movies but the iPad doesn't get very good wifi down in the dungeon. (It is a very nice dungeon though). Hoping to get half an hour on the spinbike after kids to go bed but I don't know. I should sleep early tonight again and kick this cold.
And then we had a nice heart meal, roast, I love roast. And followed it with 'fruit ice cream'. Frozen fruit pulverized by the vitamix into a soft serve type substance. Call it whatever but if I call it 'ice cream' the children will eat it. I added spinach. They did not notice. Mom 1 Kids 0.
Tomorrow: keep my snacks small, my meals properly portioned, drink MORE water, get a weight session in of any kind and hopefully some spin. And run. Because I am streaking? Right.
Sunday, January 4, 2015
I streak!
Anyways, I woke up finally around 7, and looked out side (it had been raining all night, no SNOW that they were predicting) and it had just a dusting of snow/rain and was raining. By 730 I had had a coffee and was making the decision... to run or not to run. 16 km in the snow (it was now snowing) Would be fun... 16 km with a cold and possibly letting my immune system down for a bit could be terrible awful. Then hubby called and said he would be late... 830... that gives me about 1 minute to drive to Running Room and go... The decision was made, I stay home.
I had a headache an hour later. And went to get groceries (next to Running Room actually) and it was horrid out. It was a good decision. It was wet icy pellet snow. Blech!
Sat around all day, ate moderately okay (that would be good right?)
Did not consume enough water (working on that now)
And generally spent the day doing nothing, while hoping the kids would magically be ready for school tomorrow.
5:45 the kids were down playing in the basement and I was debating.... do I go sludge a mile on Miller (yes that's my treadmill) or not.... it might make me feel better.... it might add steps to my stepless fitbit day...
So I did. :)
I suppose that makes today RunStreak Day 5. Go me!
Tomorrow... the littles are at school. I get 2.5 hours of FREE TIME, and since I missed todays 16, if I am feeling better, I will try and do 10 or something. Fingers crossed.
Moms have no time to be sick.
Saturday, January 3, 2015
To Streak or Not to Streak
Today was a successful calorie count!! Do I feel hungry? Yes! Does a person always feel hungry for the first few days when they stop stuffing themselves silly? YES! So I'm good, basically.
I pretty much sat on my tuckus all day today. There may or may not be a cold creeping into my throat/nose. I will go with not. It shall be gone tomorrow. Be Gone!
And then just before I went to retrieve my little people from their visit I wavered in the hall. There was a voice in me. "You could just hop on the treadmill.... Slog along for a mile at barely more than a walk... And it would count as a streak day if you wanted to..." so I chose the running shoes, turned on the Garmin to at least track my time, you know, as proof, and schlumped a mile.
It is supposed to possibly briefly snow tonight. Maybe the only snow of the season by the looks. It's been saying snow for hours and the flakes have yet to appear. But if they do, I have 16 km tomorrow that would be wonderful to run with snow falling. Plus playing with my kids before and after. Yes I am that mom at 6 am, waking them up because I am excited to play in the snow. No, it doesn't get old for me.
Out.
Friday, January 2, 2015
Second Day of a New year!
I did however get to try some frozen fruit turned into 'frozen yogurt' type dessert by a Yonanas machine. I may need one.
I also made myself a fabulous green smoothie after my run, and in case you are wondering how the heck did I do that today.. here are the ingredients:
Apple Pie Smoothie:
1 Apple, core removed
Some handfuls of baby kale (mine was frozen, you can use spinach or regular kale etc, fresh or frozen)
Cinnamon, as much as you like, I add a ton
Water (also could use milk or almond milk etc)
And for good luck I added some Vega Protein...
Blend and Enjoy.
(disclaimer: I have a Vitamix and it takes care of all chance of clumps... smooooooooth)
I mostly kept my myfitnesspal account up to track. Must add my yonanas and other things. Crap. I did have chocolate like substance. If I didn't sit here to write this I would not have remembered. Such is life.
Went for a short 3 km run around the block. Didn't feel awesome, but didn't feel bad. I need to stretch these body parts more though, like right after I am done typing.
I also did some quick weights. I will probably feel it in my legs and arms tomorrow but I know that I need to treat myself to weights once or twice a week.
I also officially weighed in today for the year. And it was horrible. So so bad. I know I am small and not to really 'worry' about it. But when you have an inner tube type looking body part around the middle, 10 pounds can really make a difference! I am border line needing new clothes and we just cannot have THAT!
Anyways, onto the weekend and the rest of the crazy Christmas Chaos cleanup. Kids are back to school Monday and hopefully that means 3 days a week with peace and quiet where I can get my good, strong workouts in, my runs, and also think about proper nutrition. ;) Like no chocolate. ... Or ice cream.
I know I ramble. I will get better I promise, but my time is just so limited I just start putting it all down as soon as it comes to my mind!!
Til tomorrow!
Thursday, January 1, 2015
New Year...New (probablymostlythesame) Me
Happy New Year! It's only been just a little while. But alas, it is a new year and I think my blog deserves more attention (at least from me).
A recap of my year:
Actually I draw a blank.
I ran a bunch
Walked some
Did a lot of spinning
Saw a lot of physio and chiropractic
Laughed a lot
Played a lot
Cried some
And looking back, it made a great year!
But this year coming, oh my, the challenges I have set forth!
Jan 1 Resolution Run! Complete! 4.9km 29:some seconds
Jan 25 Hypothermic Half
May 3 BMO Van Half
May 17 RnR Portland Half
May 23 Color Me Rad 5k
May 31 Run 4 Water 10k
June 13 RnR Seattle FULL Marathon
Oct 25 RnR Vancouver Half
I have no actual time goals.... maybe for the Vancouver Half but it's quite far away. I want to stay injury free (apart from constant active recovery from what ails me currently) and complete training for and the actual full itself. A FULL Marathon. Ugh. I'm scared to death. My self competitive side says 4:30, my reasonable side says "it's your first try, just get there pain free and finish before they sweep you"... so somewhere in the middle is good. I can guesstimate a time closer, I know I will.
Health and Wellness wise, I know everyone says it, but I need to lose some weight. No seriously, today I had to ax some pant choices because they were the 'too small' that rolls down while you run. 10 lb gain in 3 months.... NO GOOD!!
I had ice cream before heading to bed and writing this. It's not really a nutritional fail because I had no goal set. :) see how I did that?
And in losing a few pounds naturally comes eating properly. Perhaps I'll make myself accountable on here.
My juicer and Vitamix miss me too, I even know how to use them.
And lastly, my Resolution Run 2015 recap.
I slept in until 8am! Holy Toledo good thing it started at 10 this year instead of 9. I never sleep that late, but it was much appreciated.
My Ma and StepDad signed up this year, too, which I think was kind of exciting for them. They are embracing more fitness all the time and it seems to make them happier.
Got there with some time to wait.
It was sunny, crisp, still, wonderful! I could run on days like today every day! It was also -4 when we started.
My toque was too big. That was kind of annoying.
My feet were frozen numb for the first half km. That was also annoying.
But after running so many km feeling so slow (6:45-7:00/km) for the past few months, I actually managed to average 6/km! No walk breaks. Very happy with myself.
My feet are rather sore now but that is my fault for not exercising and stretching them how I should. :/ ok add that to my health and wellness must do list!
Maybe this year I'll figure out how to design this blog a bit better too ..... :-) maybe
That's it for now!